The Gotham Writer’s Workshop

“In 1998,” writer Jacob Appel writes in his article “Tips for Placing a Short Story,” “I won the Boston Review’s annual short fiction contest for my story, “Shell Game with Organs”—a breakthrough event in my career that led me to obtain my first agent.  At the public reading sponsored by the Review, I informed the audience that more than seventy-five other journals, both large and small, had previously rejected the piece.”

I found this article at the Gotham Writer’s Workshop website.  Gotham is a private writing school in New York City, staffed by a variety of writers worth listening to.  From poetry to fiction and all points in between, the website offers expert articles on a variety of subjects.  See the archives page for the selection.

Leave a Reply

