Somerset Maugham Talks about Writing

This is a little left field, but worth the view.  Somerset Maugham changed my life…in a way.  I was in my early twenties and not much of a reader.  My friend Cal gave me Maugham’s A Razor’s Edge.  He said, “I think you might identify with the main character.”  I did, and it was the first novel to really affect me.  I went on to read just about everything Maugham wrote.  Hemingway called him a second-rate novelist.  Maybe so.  But that book–I only read it that one time–helped me realize how a story can connect to a reader.

In this rare video, Maugham talks about his writing, where he gets his ideas and characters.  It’s worth a listen to.

Leave a Reply

